League Activities

An annual activity of the LWVSNM is the “Making Democracy Work Award” (MDWA). The League award of $250 recognizes individuals or groups who conduct projects/activities in Southern NM that contribute to making democracy work. The activities mobilize civic engagement and also promote justice, equity, diversity and inclusion. Nominations are received in December and January of each year and an honoree is selected by February 14, the anniversary of the creation of the national League of Women Voters.

The LWVSNM is seeking nominations for the 2024 Award. The deadline to nominate someone (or a small group of people) is Feb. 3, 2024. If you live in one of these counties – Dona Ana, Otero, Sierra, Luna or Grant – you can nominate someone who also lives in southern New Mexico.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Read about the Award criteria.

The 2023 awardee was Otero County Clerk Robyn Holmes of Alamogordo.  Read here about her efforts to “empower voters and strengthen democracy.”

Click here to see previous MDWA Honorees


League members are members of the Observer Corps that monitors government entities, including but not limited to the Las Cruces City Council, the Doña Ana County Commission, the Las Cruces Board of Education, the South Central Solid Waste Authority, and the agencies that oversee Public Housing, to identify issues of interest to League members.

Contact one of the Co-Presidents to become a member of the important Observer Corps.


Through a long-standing partnership with area school districts, the League supports development of greater civic engagement by young people.  League members are involved with schools through civics education, registering students to vote, promoting the voting process and  exploring the possibility of young people serving on local government and non-profit advisory boards.

The Committee is chaired by League director Kathe Kanim, a local educator.


Women’s History Celebration
Las Cruces, NM, March 2022

NM Listens Project
League Engages with Community Residents, 2022