The League of Women Voters of Southern New Mexico (LWVSNM) announced that an updated, comprehensive directory of elected officials from Doña Ana County is now available for the public.  The 2020 Who’s Who of Elected Officials can be downloaded from the LWVSNM website (www.lwvsnm.org/whos-who/) or picked up at Branigan Memorial Library, City Hall and the County Government Center, said League Co-President Kathy Brook.

“For over 30 years, the League has produced Who’s Who to promote communications with the elected public officials who serve us,” Brook said.  “During that period, it has expanded considerably to include officials in Anthony, Hatch, Mesilla, Sunland Park and soil and water conversation districts, as well as Las Cruces and Doña Ana County.”

Brook said the directory includes phone numbers, email addresses, as well as website addresses for elected officials.  In addition to county positions, such as County Commissioners, Clerk, Sheriff, Treasurer and Assessor, the directory includes federal officials such as the President and Vice President, Congressmen and the U.S. Senators. State positions from the Executive Branch include the Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, and members of the Governor’s Cabinet, among others.

“The League is a non-partisan organization that does not support or oppose any candidate. Once candidates are elected, it’s important to get this information into the hands of all residents,” said Eileen VanWie, LWVSNM Co-President. “This directory is a way to keep communication transparent for the electorate.”

The 18-page directory also has contact information for the Las Cruces City Council, the three School Boards in the county, state and local judges, several state commissions, plus the managers for the local governments.

More information about the Who’s Who Directory, or to obtain a copy, contact Brook (kathybrook@comcast.net)  or VanWie (lwvsnm.pres.e@gmail.com).



The League of Women Voters of Southern New Mexico welcomes new members to join our organization throughout the year.  The organization’s calendar from from May 1 through April 20.  Currently, the women and men in our group are meeting via Zoom, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  But, in the future, we have monthly meetings that feature our guest speakers.

Renewals (and first-time members) are $65.00 for the first household member, and $32.50 for the second household member. Students are free, but must enter the school they attend and they must be at least 16 years old. If you join after October 31, the membership price is half-off for the rest of the League’s calendar year.

There are two ways to join. First, you can go online at www.lwvsnm.org and follow the directions under members. Second, you can renew via U.S. mail, send your current contact info and check to LWVSNM PO Box 15142, Las Cruces, NM 88004.  Additional details are in our May VOTER newsletter (on this website). You can always email me at Maryellen.kebbel@gmail.com, or Laura Harper at hikinggrrl@hotmail.com.

We would love for you to join.  Contact us if you are interested in learning how to become more involved with the league as we move toward an exciting Presidential election year!

Maryellen Kebbel, Membership Co-Director


The 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment which gave women the right to vote has been recognized through a variety of celebrations throughout Doña Ana County.  In February, the 2020 Suffrage Alliance sponsored several activities that drew together women, men and children in celebration of this historic Amendment and the creation of the League of Women Voters. The Alliance was involved in proclamations, suffrage walks, writing to legislators, and activities at the NM Capitol.   The Alliance members have put their hearts into the slogan … “If Every Woman Voted…”

One of the highlights in February was a Suffrage Walk and Celebration on Feb. 22 at the Las Cruces Civic Center.  Hundreds of women, men and children enjoyed the music, speeches, voter registration and a walk around the plaza. Many women wore suffrage costumes in honor of the women who fought hard 100 ago to secure voting rights for women.

LWVSNM member Mary Martinez White and her husband Greg.

County Clerk Amanda Askin Lopez presents a proclamation to League Co-President Eileen VanWie.

Senator Bill Soules and LWVSNM Co-President Kathy Brook.


Dressed in suffrage costumes, members of the League of Women Voters of Southern New Mexico sipped on tea in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the national organization’s creation.  The High Tea Celebration was also in recognition of the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment which gave women the right to vote in 1920.  The tea was held at the Bite of Belgium restaurant on Feb. 8.  During the tea, League members also wrote dozens of Valentines to national and state lawmakers, thanking them for their ongoing support and interest in League activities. February 14 – Valentines Day – is significant; it was the actual day of the League’s creation one century ago.


During the High Tea, Co-President Eileen VanWie (right) presents League member Marjorie Burr with a Certificate from the US League. Marjorie and Sallie Hunt were recognized for their 50+ years of service to the League.