NEWS RELEASE



May 17, 2023 • For Immediate Release Contact: Jo Galvan Nash (jogalvan.nash@gmail.com) or Kathe Kanim (<u>katherinekanim@gmail.com</u>), League Co-Presidents, <u>lwvsnm@gmail.com</u>

LOCAL LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS ELECTS NEW OFFICERS, BOARD

LAS CRUCES---The League of Women Voters of Southern New Mexico (LWVSNM) elected Jo Galván Nash and Kathe Kanim, both of Las Cruces, as the new co-presidents. The non-partisan, non-profit organization, based in Las Cruces, also has several new Board members and officers.

Galván retired from the Las Cruces Public Schools in 2018 after serving 31 years as Chief Communications Officer. She now works part-time as a freelance communications consultant. Kanim served as a mathematics teacher in several states and retired from New Mexico State University, finishing her educational career as a manager on state and federally funded projects intended to improve mathematics instruction in public schools. They joined the local League is 2019 and 2021, respectively.

At the LWVSNM annual business meeting last April, also elected were Laura Castille — vice-president; Edwina Jaramillo – secretary; Louise Marquez – treasurer; Dale Yeo – voter services director; Kate Mangelsdorf – membership director; and Eileen VanWie and Josie Miller – co-directors of youth engagement. Kathy Brook and VanWie will also serve on the Board as immediate past-presidents.

Additional appointees include Mary Flynn, chairwoman of the League nominating committee, and members Johnnie Aldrich and Mangelsdorf. Nancy Stanton is the new chairwoman of the Development Committee, while Claudia Powell and Cindy Broughton are liaisons to the Board from Otero County.

"One of the biggest changes for LWVSNM is the formation of a new group — a League

unit — from the Alamogordo region," Galván said. "A great team of women and men from Otero County are organizing activities to strengthen democracy and to get residents to vote."

During the April 29 New Mexico league convention held in Los Alamos, several Las Cruces members were elected to statewide positions including Brook as co-president; Kim Sorensen as treasurer, and Jaramillo as director of voter services.

In 2021, the League adopted the philosophy known as JEDI (Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion). Kanim said JEDI sets the foundation for all future League activities, ranging from getting people registered, to empowering young voters, to advocating for affordable housing and education.

"Through a JEDI lens, our members study and advocate for issues that protect voting rights for all citizens, especially those who may otherwise be disenfranchised from the voting process," Kanim added.

The League is accepting new members. The yearly membership fee is \$65. per person and half the price for a second household member. Students 16 years or older who are enrolled in high school or college can join for free, Galván said.

League meetings are held on the second Saturdays of each month beginning at 2:00 p.m. Members can attend in-person at the Doña Ana Community College Workforce Center, 2345 Nevada, or via Zoom. A member registration form is online (<u>www.lwvsnm.org/join/</u>) and can be paid by PayPal, credit card or a check mailed to: LWVSNM, P.O. Box 15142, Las Cruces, NM 88004. For more information, contact Galván or Kanim at <u>lwvsnm@gmail.com</u>.

#